Making All Things New

It was the Greek philosopher, Heraclitus that said,

Nothing endures but change.

Known for his doctrine of change being central to the universe, I can not help but offer Sir Heraclitus a ‘tip-of-the-hat’ for nailing this one spot on. It has taken me some time to embrace change outside of my grasp for control. For me, change was destructive. It meant loss, being pushed from my comfort zone to a realm of what I have come to discover is a deeper place of faith. A powerful place of trust. A place where we are made new.

I look back on the last few years of my life and stand in awe of all the Lord has done. What started as a powerful but simple call to trust Him, has turned into a foundation shaking, life altering journey that has left me forever changed. I began realizing that any lack of trust was truly a hinderance to what the Lord wanted to do in and through my life. That stepping out in faith, grabbing hold of a fierce trust in the Lord allowed Him to challenge the very core of who I was and what I stood for. Painful on the surface. Challenging at times. Yet through it all, a deeper wisdom prevailed. I began realizing that this process we endure of pain and struggle, joy and celebration are small pieces to a much bigger picture. If I have learned anything at all it is that the Lord paints on a canvass much, MUCH bigger than we can often see or often realize. In fact, my journey to trust in the Him was really a journey to be made new in Him.

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

           – 2 Corinthians 5:17

The Lord began to bring me to a place of deeper understanding in regards to the gospel. For many years I had considered myself a Christ follower, but as I moved to trust God in a powerful way the gospel was brought to a new light. I began realizing that while I understood the power of the cross, I was missing God’s heart behind the gift of Jesus. Paul’s words to the church in Corinth resonated deeply with me as I began understanding the the truth that the cross brings us to a place of repentance, but to truly be made new it must bring us to a place of surrender. In repentance, we find our forgiveness through Christ, but in surrender to Christ, we are a new creation. Jesus gave us everything – and asks for ALL we have in return. We serve a jealous God, a God of love who sacrificed his son to reconcile our relationship, to restore our broken world so that we might know Him intimately. What I needed to learn was that through surrender we find true freedom not a loss of control. That all I thought I had gained was truly counted as loss. And that God had only begun His work in my life. As Paul writes in Philippians 3: 8 – I count it all as loss, that I may gain Christ.

A challenge to trust the Lord led me a place of surrender. Through surrender I am made new.

Behold, I am making all things new

        – Revelation 21:5

I would challenge all of you the same. What areas of your life have you sought forgiveness but have yet to surrender? Grace is free, but it cost everything. What reason do you then have to not give all you are to a God who pursues you with a furious love?

Leave a Reply

